La Liga rules for non-European players


La Liga or La Liga BBVA is the top professional club football competition in Spain. It is considered one of the most popular and competitive domestic leagues in the world, with the English Premier League, Bundesliga, Serie A and Ligue 1 being the other most viewed domestic leagues. Like all football leagues in the world, La Liga is also guided by specific rules prepared by the Spanish football authority in accordance with FIFA guidelines. Now let’s take a closer look at the La Liga rules for non-European players.

Rules for non-European La Liga players

According to La Liga rules, a club playing in the Spanish Premier League football league is not allowed to sign more than three non-European players. The same figure is 2 for football clubs in the second division (LigaAdelate). Segunda Division B clubs are not allowed to recruit non-European players. However, clubs relegated to the second or third division are allowed to keep non-European players until their contracts expire.

According to a decision adopted by the Spanish Federation, teams playing in La Liga and the country’s second soccer division should make optimal use of the rules and build their squads with foreign payers as much as allowed by the authority.

Citizenship for foreign players

According to La Liga rules, players can claim Spanish citizenship from their native lands. A non-European player can apply for Spanish citizenship. However, he must play for five years in Spain to be eligible for Spanish citizenship. Additionally, players arriving from Caribbean, African and Pacific countries (commonly referred to as ACP countries) are not included in the non-EU category due to the Kolpak ruling.


From La Liga we will head to Arsenal, the English side of the Premier League. Affectionately referred to as the Gunners, they are one of England’s most successful Premier League teams. Currently managed by Arsene Wenger, Arsenal have their own pitch at Emirates Stadium. They have produced some of the big names in world football and brought several top players to London.

Arsenal achievements

Arsenal have lots of silverware in their collection. The club have won 13 Premier League titles. They won their last Premier League title in 2004 and are currently at the top of the table to reach 14 in their profile. They have won the FA Cup 12 times in their history and lifted the FA Community Shield.

Arsenal’s honors are not limited only to achievements at home, but also internationally. They won the UEFA Champions League as well as the former UEFA Europa League (former UEFA Cup). They are also winners of the FIFA Club World Cup and the UEFA Super Cup. In 1994, Arsenal entered the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.

Arsenal have several stars on board. They brought German international Mesut Ozil from Real Madrid on a record-breaking deal with the club in the summer of 2013.

Source by Kev Rob


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button